top of page
blue gradient wide.png

Academy History

Before Fareham Academy

Before becoming Fareham Academy in 2013, the school went through a number of transformations over the decades preceding it, adapting to the changing times while upholding its commitment to providing education in the heart of Fareham.

From its early days as St Anne’s County Secondary School for Girls to its subsequent iterations as Neville Lovett Community School and ultimately Fareham Academy, the school has remained dedicated to nurturing the minds of generations of students.

As we uncover more about the history of Fareham Academy, we encounter the stories of countless educators, students and staff members who left their mark on the institution. Through this digital archive, we invite you to discover the milestones, achievements and transformative moments that have shaped the school into what it is today.

Contribute to the archive

If you have any information, news articles, or photos from the Academy's past that you would like to share with us, please contact

St Anne's County Secondary School for Girls

We are currently researching St Anne's County Secondary School for Girls and hope to have information here soon.

Bishopsfield School

Bishopsfield School operated between 1961 and 1979 on Bishopsfield Road in Fareham. In 1984, the school merged with St Anne’s County Secondary School of St Anne's Grove to create Neville Lovett Community School.

Neville Lovett Community School

Neville Lovett Community School was a mid-sized comprehensive (ages 11 - 16) mixed-sex school of 800 pupils, located on St Anne's Grove, Fareham. It was the first school in Hampshire designated as a Specialist Maths and Computing College in September 2003. The school was named after the first Bishop of Portsmouth, Neville Lovett.

Fareham Academy
Select a year to view more ↑
bottom of page